Pascha

by avarsa

Every year my family gets together and we celebrate Orthodox Easter. I am an Orthodox Christian, and sometimes the dates are a little bit off, considering our Easter is about a month off from the Catholic celebrations. So this Sunday is Pascha (Easter in Latin) and my family is getting together to roast a whole lamb and a whole suckling pig.

Every year we try to have lamb and most of the time we try to get a whole fresh one and pick it up the Saturday before Pascha. When you have lamb this fresh and so young, it is easily one of the most delicious things I have ever eaten and my mouth is watering just thinking about it right now, especially after forty days of fasting meat and dairy (which is another blog post all together). We have this roasting box called the La Caja China that can roast whole pig, lamb, or pieces of animal. The La Caja China roasts your lamb to perfect doneness while keeping the skin crispy in the box. The charcoal goes onto the top of the box while the lamb or pig is inside.

La Caja China

Pascha is a time to enjoy food, family, and friends, and celebrate the resurrection of Jesus. I hope this Pascha celebration is as good as years before.